The main timbers were meant to be seen and elaborate designs often appeared.
Robertsbridge is believed to date back to 1176 when a Cistercian Abbey was founded there.
It is likely that Robertsbridge got its name from Latin translation of ‘Pons Roberti’, the name given to the first bridge built across the river Rother by the founding Abbot - Robert de St Martin.
Later, as bricks became cheaper and more easily available they were often used to fill the spaces.
The roof would be thatched or covered with wooden shingles or sometimes with thin pieces of stone; later, tiles or slates would replace these.
Today Gray-Nicolls manufactures and supplies world famous cricket bats to customers all over the world.
In 1999, the Robertsbridge and Salehurst parish twinned with the town of St. Robertsbridge is a busy village with many amenities, shops and pubs.
Robertsbridge hosts a few unique features; The "Bruderhof", a faith community living in a self-sufficient commune at the edge of the village.
They wear traditional late 19th century style work garb and can often be seen on walks around the village and surrounding countryside.
At this time they probably depopulated an earlier settlement Drigsell and moved it into their 'new vill of Robertsbridge'.
A market Charter was granted to Robertsbridge in the 13th C.
The earliest house dates from c.1390 and is now divided into 4 cottages - 1-4 Fair Lane.